Friday, September 19, 2014

All the Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards KZN regional winners

KwaZulu-Natal regional winners Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards 

(KZN Region Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards winners - Back Row: Rowen Philp, Jonathan Erasmus and Kyle Cowen
Front Row: Judy Sandison, Andries Liebenberg and Nonkululeko Hlope, Taresh Harreeparshad, Thuli Dlamini, Dasen Thathia, Mhlabunzima Memela, , Xolani Celi, Tony Carnie and Julie Laurenz)

This year, the Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards celebrate 20 years of democracy and mark the 20th anniversary of Vodacom. It’s a double celebration, both of journalistic excellence and communication facilitated by Vodacom. During this period, journalists covered stories with global reach and significance, requiring in depth research to bring their stories to life.

Convenor of the judging panel, Mary Papayya said: “Once again, the judging process was filled with vigorous debate, and I thank the judges for the critical and concise decision making they committed themselves to. The work we saw was excellent and we hope to see continued growth and momentum for the Vodacom Awards.”

This year, 967 entries were received in the 12 categories: CSI/Sustainability, Editor’s Choice, Financial/Economic, Online, Photography, Print Feature, Print News, Radio Feature, Radio News, Sport, Television Feature and Television News. This was an increase on last year where 830 entries were received. This year, the Print Feature category received the most entries, with 211 journalists vying for the title.

Maya Makanjee, Chief Officer for Corporate Affairs at Vodacom Group said: “I would like to thank the panel of judges for their sterling work during the judging process.

“This year’s judging panel comprised experts in their fields, and I would like to thank Elna Rossouw, Mary Papayya, Collin Nxumalo, Arthur Goldstuck, Johann de Wet, Joe Thloloe, Ryland Fisher, Megan Rusi, and Patricia McCracken, who made their time and expertise available to us,” said Makanjee.

Regional winners for the KwaZulu-Natal Region were announced at a function at the Protea Hotel Umhlanga Ridge, Durban

Regional winners will each take home R5 000 and travel to Johannesburg for the national finals on 31 October 2014.

The winners of the 2014 Vodacom Journalist of the Year regional Awards in the KwaZulu-Natal region are:

2014 CSI/Sustainability winners
Tony Carnie. The Mercury, The protection of rhinos in context.
And Loni Prinsloo, Business Times, Beneficiaries feel shafted in Rio equity deal.

2014 Financial/Economic winners
Jonathan Erasmus, Mhlabunzima Memela, and Rowan Philp. The Witness, Jay Singh uncovered.

2014 Online winner
Kyle Cowan. Newcastle Advertiser, The search for Marcel.

2014 Photography winner
Thuli Dlamini. Sowetan, Living in Nkandla.

2014 Print Feature winner
Rowan Philp. The Witness, How crime like cable theft cripples the economy.

2014 Print News winner
Rowan Philp. The Witness, Funeral of former President Nelson Mandela (body of work).

2014 Radio Feature winner
Taresh Harreeparshad. SABC, Coverage of former President Nelson Mandela’s funeral.

2014 Radio News winners
Andries Liebenberg and Nonkululeko Hlope. SABC Radio News, Killing fields.

2014 Sport winners
Carvin Goldstone and Xolani Cele. eNCA, Blind fight.

2014 Television Feature winners
Julie Laurenz and Jacqui Jayamaha. eTV Viola’s hope.

2014 Television News winners
Dasen Thathiah, Xolani Cele, and Thuthuka Zondi. eNCA, Body of work on South African role models who have succeeded against the odds.

(Source - Vodacom) 

1 comment: